Lectures – what’s the problem?

I’m frankly fed-up of hearing about how boring students are finding their lectures (Anderson 2003) and how laptops should be included along with iphones, twitter etc. When I was at university, I really enjoyed 95% of my lectures and I considered these as something unique to my learning experience. Some of my lecturers made very memorable impressions in their delivery, alongside the old-fashioned carousel slide projector, that sometimes failed to work:)

Not everything has to be obviously interactive. I interacted mentally with the most outstanding lectures through imagination and thought process.

If lectures are so boring, then the fault lies with the deliver, not the medium.

Old-Fashioned Slide Projector

references: Terry Anderson – Getting the Mix Right Again: An updated and theoretical rationale for interaction

Leave a Reply

